LDS Young Men

Tales from the trenches – Teaching Teenagers

Posted in aaronic Priesthood by ldsym on August 14, 2008

Geoff B. over at The Millenial Star has wrote about his struggle teaching the teenagers. He was the new guy in the ward, and got savaged while teaching teenagers in Sunday School. Anyone who has taught Young Men can relate to some degree.

I am lucky, I have been in my ward for over a decade, so I have been involved with these boys since they were Sunbeams. I have been in the Young Men’s program since 2003, so I have been fully focused on them for 5 years. They know me, and I know them, that helps an awful lot. I am not saying I can control them with a stern look, but we stumble through our lessons with reasonable behavior from both teacher and students.

Last year I viewed one of those Aaronic Priesthood/Scout training videos online (I can’t find it on LDS.org today, it was a round table type discussion held on an outdoor set) One of the main points was that longevity of leaders is a key to success in a YM program. I wholeheartedly agree, I think it is crucial.

Leave a Reply

