LDS Young Men

My “Monson List”

Posted in monson list by ldsym on August 21, 2008

You have heard of a “Bucket List“, made popular by the movie of the same name. Well, I have a Monson List.

Allow me to explain. Some years ago, in an attempt to be a better speaker, I decided to emulate President Monson’s (then Member of the 12) style and use more stories. My memory is not that great, and I often found myself remembering stories that would have been great for a particular topic AFTER I gave the talk on it, so I actually started keeping a list of stories. Anything I came across that could be useful in future talks or lessons are noted. I had to name the computer file something, so I called it my “Monson List”. When I am assigned a topic, I browse the list and see if any are relevant stories or ideas.

Sometimes personal experiences will come to mind along with some correlation to a Gospel principle, so I will write it down. I also keep news items that can be of use in lessons, those I usually see online, and I have a bookmark file called “monson list”. I won’t lie to you, fresh stories beat repeating the ones out of the lesson manuals that the boys have already heard many times.

I recently did a fireside on choices having consequences, and it was pretty much a collection of stories. It seemed to go well.

By the way, I don’t really have a “bucket list” but off the top of my head — I want to get my kids through college, mission, and married. After that, forget about skydiving, I look forward to getting the basement clean before I die.

Tagged with:

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Have Consiquences & Repentance Here is one of my favorite stories from my Monson list. It is from Outside Magazine’s […]

  2. Paul Robichaux said, on August 26, 2008 at 8:15 am

    I love the idea of keeping a Monson list. I’d like to start one too– would you be willing to share yours?

  3. ldsym said, on August 26, 2008 at 8:56 am

    Yes, I plan to share some of my favorite stories on LDS-ym.com. I will post them as I get time.

  4. […] List – Endure to the End I have had some interest in my Monson List post. I will look through it as time permits, and post some of my favorite news stories that can be used […]

  5. Lavon said, on August 26, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    I LOVE THIS!!! I’ve been an avid thought/article collector spiritual journal writer for many years but I love that you took a movie title idea and personalized it. Especially love your insight keeping perspective on the really important bucket list things – including the basement. šŸ™‚

  6. […] a comment » This is one of my favorite stories off my Monson List. It is about a young man who showed up to play ball with his buddies in the church gym, only to find […]


Leave a Reply

