LDS Young Men

REVIEW: New Scout Uniform Shirt

Posted in Scouting by ldsym on September 24, 2008
Breast Pockets look better than this

Breast Pockets actually look a lot better than this photo

I saw the new scout uniform shirt for the first time at our Court of Honor last night.   I wrote about it last month, but this is the first time I have actually seen it.    My impressions are as follows:

The Breast pockets are not  nearly as “blousey” as the official photo made it look.   They lay flat, and looked good.

I didn’t realize they were getting rid of all the red, including troop numbers. It is all khaki and forest green. I think I like it.

New gleeve with green troop number & patch on pocket

New sleeve with green troop number & patch on pocket

The fabric is heavier than I thought it would be.   It is that high tech “moisture management” stuff, which made me think it would be lighter weight, but it isn’t.   It is as thick as the old material.   I had hoped it would be lighter weight so it would be cooler, but I guess the thicker fabric is more durable.

I had hoped for vents on the back, but there are none.

There are buttons sewed on the inside of the front breast pocket flaps, I am guessing to hang a patch from, since there are no traditional buttons or buttonholes on the pockets, they close with velcro.

One of the breast pockets has a pen slot in it, just a sewed line down it about 1/3 of the way across.   It is probably a good idea for a pen, but leaves the other 2/3rds of the pocket pretty useless as it won’t fit anything.

My brother says the arm pocket is perfect for a pack of smokes (joking)

All in all, they are very nice.   Problem is the old ones never wear out, so I will have to wait a quite while before I can justify getting the new one.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jeans said, on September 25, 2008 at 6:27 am

    Cool review. Luckily I’ve got fast-growing boys and we seem to need to buy a new one every couple of years so I’ll be checking these out soon.

  2. Mike Bolin, Fairfield, California said, on January 19, 2013 at 8:44 am

    Something I found interesting in my warped way of thinking and reasoning -“No uniform is required by the BSA to participate in its programs” – sounds like all my kids will get a 100% at the Jamboree Uniform Inspection (Yah, try pushing that to the Jamboree Director, although it is good for inner city kids with limited resources>


Leave a Reply

