LDS Young Men

Is Someone Trying to Hack President Monson’s Teleprompter?

Posted in Weird by ldsym on October 8, 2008

OK, this is really weird, but I am wondering if someone is trying to mess up President Monson’s Teleprompter.   I certainly hope not.  I have to assume Church IT Security takes that stuff pretty seriously, and has it well protected.

So why am I wondering about this? I’ll explain — WordPress has a feature where the administrative dashboard displays the search terms that were used by people who landed at your blog.   I check it on occasion and not surprisingly the most popular searches that deposit people on LDS-YM.com  are “2009 Young Men theme”, “Mutual Activities”, “LDS Youth Activities”.    For some reason a lot of folks search “altoids”, and they end up here.   There must not be a lot of other sites mentioning the minty treats, so they end up here based on the post that mentioned they are a girl getter in Wisconsin.

So anyway, the Monday after General Conference someone searched the words: “Monson Teleprompter Hacked Priesthood Conference“.   That search presumably led them to this blog because of the post on how to you use your Laptop as a teleprompter and regular mention of President Monson.  So that leaves the question: Why would someone search for that?   It is very specific, almost like someone expected some sort of teleprompter issue during the Priesthood session, and wanted to see if it was mentioned in any news or blog coverage.  WordPress provides no info on the dashboard on who searched or any other info about the search, just that someone searched those words  (I am sure Google knows, they know everything, but it is unavailable on WordPress Dashboard).

I didn’t notice any issues with the teleprompter for Conference.   Keep in mind, if there were some sort of nefarious attack on the prompter it would in the Church’s best interest to not publicize it, so short of something very noticeable, I doubt anyone in the general public would ever know about any problems.

By the way, I know nothing about the specific teleprompter at the Conference Center, but have some professional experience with Teleprompters in general.   For an application like the Conference Center there is no necessity to have the prompter hooked up to the Internet, or any other network for that matter.   You can just load talks off a thumbdrive,  so it would not be hard to secure it against hackers who do not have physical access to the system.   I am not going to lose sleep over it, I am sure Dehlin’s digital Danites have it well under control

Update: after I posted this I was curious, so I did some research and found a bit of info on the teleprompter at the Conference Center.   This article is about the unique glass plate that they project the words onto.   The screen is 35 feet away from the speaker, and it 5 feet wide.  There is no mention in the article about the computer that runs the system.

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. locations villas luxe costa blanca said, on February 19, 2013 at 3:11 pm

    Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I
    to find It

    truly useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give
    something again and help others like you helped me.

  2. dynamat asturias said, on May 6, 2013 at 6:56 am

    Hey there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble
    with hackers?

    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing a few months of
    hard work due

    to no data backup. Do you have any solutions to protect against hackers?

  3. Phen375 Reality said, on June 8, 2013 at 1:08 pm

    Hello to all, how is all, I think every one is getting more from this site, and your views
    are nice in favor of new viewers.

  4. garcinia cambogia extract said, on August 4, 2013 at 2:58 pm

    Exceptional post however , I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this subject?
    I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Thanks!

  5. sem hk said, on February 8, 2014 at 10:19 pm

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very
    well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.

  6. Pure cambogia ultra mexico comprar said, on April 18, 2014 at 5:24 am

    Aw, this was an extremely ood post. Taking the time and actual effort to produce a
    top notch article… but what can I say… I hesitate a whole lot
    and don’t manage to get anything done.

  7. green coffee garcinia green tea said, on May 21, 2014 at 10:21 pm

    What’s Taking place i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I
    have found It positively useful and it has aided me out loads.
    I hope tto contribute & help different customers like its helped me.

    Great job.

  8. pure cambogia ultra colombia said, on September 20, 2014 at 3:07 pm

    I’m not sure where you’re getting your info, but great topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding
    more. Thanks for magnificent info I was looking for this information for my mission.

  9. Luke said, on September 23, 2014 at 3:18 pm

    Highly energetic article, I liked that a lot. Will there be a part 2?

  10. Weight Loss pills review said, on September 26, 2014 at 6:47 am

    You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to
    be really something which I think I would never understand.

    It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I’m looking forward
    for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  11. nightmare before christmas said, on October 6, 2014 at 11:45 am

    I am regular reader, how are you everybody? This paragraph
    posted at this web page is really good.

  12. Arlene said, on October 7, 2014 at 7:56 pm

    Attractive part of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to say that I get in fact loved account your
    weblog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing
    on your augment or even I achievement you
    get right of entry to constantly rapidly.


Leave a Reply

