LDS Young Men

Is a GA checking out your blog?

Posted in LDS Online by ldsym on February 2, 2009

I recently read a post by a blogger reporting that a General Authority read his blog, and contacted his local leaders and had him banned from working with the youth in his ward.   Assuming the post is true, it is interesting on many levels.       I am very pro-blogging, but I am also very much for good old fashioned modesty, both in real life, and  in blogging.   I hate TMI.    In this case the blogger says he talked about repenting of something related to  same sex attraction some 30 years ago.     My first reaction was that banning him from working with the youth seemed a bit harsh, but I can’t blame a leaders for erring on the side of caution when it comes to the well being of the youth.

As Paul Harvey would say — but now the rest of the story— tagcloud1so I was feeling like the right decision was probably made,  but definitely had some sympathy for this blogger, who laments being left  behind while the other dads go camping for something that he did 30 years ago.    Then I looked around his site a bit, and found his this blog’s tag  cloud.   Judge for yourself if the GA& Bishop  made the right call.

I am old-school and think overly personal stuff just does not belong in blogs, certainly not confession of sin.

I am not as clever as those Mormon Bloggers who can wrap everying up at the end of their blog entry, I just thought this brings up some interesting issues to think about.

Note: this post is not about SSA, I empathize with those who struggle with that.   It is about using your common sense and avoiding  TMI.  I wish this good brother the best, and did not identify his blog because I don’t wish to belittle him personally  or cause him any further criticism.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jeans said, on February 3, 2009 at 7:46 am

    Um, kind of a scary precedent. Let me check out your tag cloud… yup, you seem to be ok.

  2. ldsym said, on February 3, 2009 at 7:50 am

    You are funny. I am enjoying your Trek Diaries

  3. Matt said, on February 3, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    It’s usually better to be over-cautious than to have something go irretrievably wrong. Besides, not everyone would think that’s a punishment at all. 😉

  4. jeans said, on February 4, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    Maybe the key is not to have a tag cloud? Although that guy’s cloud was kind of unbalanced.

    I’m surprised to hear that GAs have either the time or the interest to police the rest of us. I would chalk it up to urban legend if you didn’t know him personally.


Leave a Reply

