LDS Young Men

Scout Sunday Drama

Posted in Scouting, The Sacrament, Youth Leaders by ldsym on February 9, 2009
Scout Sunday Patch

Scout Sunday Patch

Yesterday we observed Scout Sunday.   I loved seeing the boys in their uniforms.    Two older members with no connection to the Youth stopped me to tell me how much they enjoyed seeing the uniformed boys.   I also overheard a conversation in the hallway with 2 members saying the same thing.

So today I make my rounds through the LDS blogs and and and surprised to learn that Scout Sunday is controversial.   OK, I don’t really think it is controversial in real life, but in the Drama Queen blogernacle, it is controversial.

Anyway, it is a very interesting post over at Times and Seasons

BTW- I have this theory that most everything on the local church level that is controversial is because leaders have failed to plan well, or communicate well.    I arrive at that theory because everything that I personally been involved with that has turned out  “controversial” was  directly related to those failures by me or other leaders.

In the Times and Seasons post there is a bit of mini-drama is over whether or not the YM should pass the Sacrament in their uniforms.    In our ward we notified the Elders Quorum early, so they prepared it and passed it.   They enjoyed participating in that ordinance this one Sunday, the Boys get to see the men passing, which builds their appreciation for the importance of the ordinance.   Families get to have their boys sit with them through the entire meeting.   Sounds like a win-win situation, or as Micheal Scott says– “a win, win, win situation”.

ts-masthed2

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ji20874 said, on February 16, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Thanks! My ward’s Scout Sunday was yesterday (Feb. 15th). But I also previously read some of the posts such as at Times and Seasons I opposition to Scout Sunday and [wrongly] averring that Church policy prohibits it. However, my ward embraced it yesterday.

    I rarely visit the bloggernacle, but I am always surprised that there are always some VERY strident and VERY loud voices on so many topics. Thank goodness, there are also a few reasonable and kind voices. To be sure, I’m glad the bloggernacle’s loud persons are not in charge of running the real Church.

    But back to your point — yes, Scout Sunday is a win for everyone. I hope it continues as such.

  2. Doyle said, on February 9, 2015 at 10:39 pm

    My son wore his uniform yesterday. He’s a Webelo. And he was the only one to do so! However, he attends the local Pack 175, started as a tiger. I believe he’s had more opportunities this way compared to the LDS cub scouts. Its actually too bad. We had thought about having him attend the LDS boy scouts, but I believe he will have better opportunities in the local troop than with our ward. And I’ll be there all the way!

  3. Committee Chair said, on December 5, 2015 at 11:13 am

    8.13 Scouting Month
    February has traditionally been designated as Scouting Month in the United States. Leaders of Scouting units chartered by the Church may plan and carry out approved activities to recognize this tradition. However, in keeping with the purposes of Sabbath observance, boys and leaders do not wear their uniforms to regular Sunday meetings or while administering and passing the sacrament.

    https://www.lds.org/bc/content/shared/english/young-men/35814_scout-handbook_eng.pdf?lang=eng

    I am just going to leave this controversial piece of Church material here.

    • middle said, on April 24, 2017 at 2:42 pm

      Thanks for the reference. This is more or less exactly how I felt about it (think of it this way: what is the purpose of church on Sunday), but didn’t realize it was actually in the handbook. I haven’t read any other blogs or anything on this topic (until this post), it’s just what makes sense to me. Even if I was in a ward that did Scout Sunday, it wouldn’t bother me all that much if they were wearing their uniforms, but it’s nice to know that my intuition was in line with what is actually expected.

  4. John said, on October 19, 2016 at 12:34 am

    Back in the 60’s Scout Sunday was a big deal. The Sacrament meeting even made reference to it. But the war in Viet Nam made uniforms of any kind less and less welcome and eventually Scout Sunday was conviently forgotten. Now the handbook of instructions is specific on the matter.

    So much for Scout Sunday.


Leave a Reply

